Verwood remains Conservative as Simon Hoare holds North Dorset seat

Verwood remains Conservative as Simon Hoare keeps his seat in North Dorset albeit with his majority slashed to 1,589.

It comes as Labour wins Bournemouth, with Tom Hayes gaining Bournemouth East from Tobias Ellwood, and Jessica Toale taking Bournemouth West, unseating Conservative Conor Burns.

It’s the first time Bournemouth has ever had a Labour MP – it now has two.

Meanwhile BCP council leader Vikki Slade has won Mid Dorset and North Poole for the Lib Dems after three previous attempts, beating migration minister Michael Tomlinson. It’s unknown if Vikki will remain as Council leader.

Poole, at the time of posting, is going for a full recount after the results were too close to call.

And Dorset South has gone red, with Labour’s Lloyd Hatton replacing Richard Drax after 14 years.

Simon Hoare wrote on X: “My heartfelt thanks to the voters of North Dorset for, once again, electing me to be their voice in Westminster.

“It is an absolute honour and I pledge to serve you all without fear or favour. My thanks to my fellow candidates for a robust and professional campaign
My thanks to all of the staff who prepared for the election behind the scenes, manned the polling stations and conducted the count.

“Huge effort to deliver. Well done Dorset Council UK.”

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Also happening..